2009 – Top 10 Albums

Although they seem to be everywhere, I like end of year lists. They provide a nice snap shot of what people enjoyed or thought important during the year and they can be a great source of undiscovered gems or things that somehow just passed you by.

So (in no particular order) here’s my top ten, plus a few treasures I’ve found from other people’s lists  –

  • The Hazards of Love – The Decemberists
  • Veckatimest – Grizzly Bear
  • Wilco – Wilco
  • Oh My God, Charlie Darwin – The Low Anthem
  • Lungs – Florence and the Machine
  • It’s Blitz – Yeah, Yeah, Yeahs
  • Lost Channels – Great Lake Swimmers
  • Popular Songs – Yo La Tengo
  • Monsters of Folk – Monster of Folk
  • Fever Ray – Fever Ray

And those I’ve found from other lists –

  • Hospice – The Antlers
  • XX – XX
  • Two Dancers – Wild Beasts
  • Actor – St Vincent
2 thoughts on “2009 – Top 10 Albums

  1. Am now inspired to check out the following that could be of interest as had not heard of them…The Low Anthem and Monster of Folk. Can say I ‘discovered’ Fever Ray via a best of list and it’s brilliant!

    1. Definitely check out The Monsters of Folk and if you like them you can move on to ‘My Morning Jacket’, marvellous.

Comments are closed.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

