Happy New Year!

The first few weeks of any new year are a great time. There’s a real sense of possibility. A feeling of renewal, the chance to give things another go or even try something for the very first time.

To get you started I’d like to point you in the direction of Robert Burns – the Bard of Scotland and one of the world’s greatest poets. As well as the better-known works, like Auld Lang Syne, My love is like Red Red Rose, Tam O’Shanter, Scots Wha Hae etc. Burns wrote dozens of beautiful songs and poems, full of wonderful language and evocative imagery, all well worth searching out. Here’s one of my favourites to get you started….

O Wert Thou In The Cauld Blast

O wert thou in the cauld blast,
On yonder lea, on yonder lea,
My plaidie to the angry airt,
I’d shelter thee, I’d shelter thee;
Or did Misfortune’s bitter storms
Around thee blaw, around thee blaw,
Thy bield should be my bosom,
To share it a’, to share it a’.

Or were I in the wildest waste,
Sae black and bare, sae black and bare,
The desert were a Paradise,
If thou wert there, if thou wert there;
Or were I Monarch o’ the globe,
Wi’ thee to reign, wi’ thee to reign,
The brightest jewel in my Crown
Wad be my Queen, wad be my Queen.

3 thoughts on “Happy New Year!

  1. Wow totally new look – didn’t recognise it as the same blog.

    Must say was expecting to read some pithy, witty, erudite insight or comment to accompany the message.

    Now eagerly waiting for first blog post for 2011…c’mon where is it?

    1. Hey Monique,
      You’re so quick off the mark, you caught me out trying a few new looks and ideas. I’ve updated the Happy New Year post, so do have a read. Thanks for all your comments and support, look forward to hearing more in 2011.

      Cheers
      A.

  2. Now this is more like it – surprised you didn’t encourage people to try some Haggis, neaps and tatties (yeah I know probably not spelt correctly however I’m an Aussie not a Scot so can be forgiven) with a nip of whiskey of course,or two.

    btw – like the poem too and think I actually managed to understand the Scots terminology.

Comments are closed.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

